top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Breese

"Bauhaus meets Fisher Price"

THE MEMPHIS GROUP


A group of Italian designers and architects founded the brand in Milan in 1982, Ettore Sottsass being the first member. The group was mentioned to me by a lecturer of mine, and I was looking through my notes over the past weeks I found the name and wanted to know more. The work of the innovative group often incorporated plastics laminates and was seen to be characterised by their colourful decorations that was seen on their ephemeral designs. This was accompanied by asymmetrical shapes.

In words it seems like the most bizarre thing ever. However, there is actually something charming about that CHAOS that is the designs of Memphis. Throughout the years the Memphis Group has had a significant impact on the design world, especially has had subtle strokes on the fashion world. Through research I found that people have named the art/architecture/furniture as "bizarre", "misunderstood", "loathed", and my favourite- "a shotgun wedding between Bauhaus and Fisher Price"


I love this quote from Sottsass himself:

"When I was young, all we ever heard about was functionalism, functionalism, functionalism...It's not enough. Design should also be sensual and exciting."I think this sums up the madness of the

group.


Christian Dior drew inspiration from the design movement for their FALL/WINTER 2011-2012 Haute Couture collection. From my own research I found Missoni 2015, there was a more subtle approach; I believe that there is a modern twist on the use of colour and shape here.


David Bowie was also a famous collector and fan of the art movement. I feel like if anyone was to live in a crazy house of shapes it would have been Bowie.


When doing further research I found the Design Museum website that is currently featuring some work from the Memphis Group. The page on their website came with a quote:


"You were in one sense repulsed by the objects, or I was, but also immediately freed by the sort of total rule-breaking"- Jasper Morrison


In terms of what is happening today Memphis still has an effect on design inspiration. KARTELL (on of my favourite interior manufacturers) made a tribute to the famous group with a . new collection that brings today's modern furnishings together with the old chaos of the Memphis Group. As a fan of KARTELL I usually like everything they put out. I want my future house to be covered in it. And this time...I still love it.

I could never have the style in my own home. I am not brave enough, nor rich enough, nor cool The fact that I have a soft spot now for the childlike Memphis Group style is a big help. I would never/could pull it off. However, KARTELL's take on it is a maybe...to future money making me anyway.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page