top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Breese

Brand Presentation 1 and Feedback

The Presentation


This is the initial idea for our brief: create a brand for a fragrance. So we came up with an idea to branch on after feedback we receive.


Feedback


Si (My lecturer), Eli (industry expert)


Si – I think it’s really interesting because I think you’re one of the only groups who have almost kind of started with here’s a brand and here’s the name. As soon as you said it my mind then started thinking is that a good name, does that work? And I’m not quite sure, but I’ll talk about that in a minute. I think you identified an area and I think I could see a lot of people buying it if you got the brand right. I think there is something there that is like beyond it just being a functional thing and seeing something that is genuinely for like your generation. It’s not deodorant, it’s not body spray, it’s not like fragrance, it’s like something different. It works, but it also it kind of represents a lifestyle, so I think that’s really good. There were lots of good models and good use of primary, you know, you clearly thought about the process in detail. I suppose really one of the questions is what’s the story? There could be some really obvious stories, and how would you take those beyond. So many people do festivals now, how could you do a festival story that wasn’t as obvious. You know a bunch of people in a tent, a bunch of people in mud – how can you make it interesting. To me I’m not quite getting bright and day, maybe because I don’t see what’s wrong with night, and why is it bright instead of night. Night is good, night is experience, and fun, and play. Do you know what I mean? I don’t quite get it but I’m not saying I’m right, I just don’t quite get it.


Group – I mean we aren’t 100% on it, that was just a very brief thing. We just thought we’d like something to tie it in.


Si – Yeah, I think it’s great you started to think about it, I just think in a way maybe there’s something like more subtle or more nuanced - a bit less literal.


Group – It is quite hard to do, I mean we sat around for a good hour trying to think of a name.


Si – I don’t know, what do you feel?


Eli – The name? I don’t mind the name, but it all depends what you do with it. The name at the moment would be hard work making me think what you’re telling me it does, but doesn’t mean you can’t do that, if you do that really well then I’ll buy into it all day long. So, it all depends on how you go from here. I know what you mean. One thing I will say is I actually worked with Wingman in the early days, when he just started out, and he was a student actually when he started. The guy, he just had this idea of ‘oh I’m going to do some wipes’ and he just went and did it, fair play to the lad, and he got some investment along the way. But the reason Wingman worked at the time was because he actually had a very clear benefit for the festival goers – it’s a wipe for men, so you go, you have your pack of wipes, it’s like you don’t need to shower blah blah blah and it’s very clear to explain why, for a festival goer, and a guy, that would be beneficial. Whereas I think that is a lot harder sell purely on the fragrance aspect, as in why would I want this one over another one per say. Do you understand? I think that’s what you need to explain better through the branding and through the brand stories.

I was just thinking how would I do it? I think what the key thing is in the festival is power. How powerful is the smell? So, you can have a power gauge for each of your scents, for different types, so you’re completely getting an idea of what this is. Another thing is how long does the smell last – in terms of how long does the smell last on the skin, or how many times would I need to reapply it, you could have another gauge. Do you know what I mean, slowly beginning to come and create a brand based around, not necessarily festivals, but travel. Because I think you said fragrance with a purpose, and I think that kind of idea, if you can sort of give yourself a reason to exist by giving it those different gauges, I think people will almost overlook the fact that you don’t necessarily have to have a specific benefit, like a wipe does. They’ll believe what you want to tell them, and that it can actually do it, and I think that’s the main thing. But as a concept I think it’s really interesting because the way you chose different types, like the solid, the balm and the aerosol, you really acknowledged the different types of fragrance. So, I think it’s actually in this case, more about the branding and how you choose to actually put that message across. Because the products aren’t actually that new, no disrespect, but it’s more how you’re sort of telling people about them and encouraging them to use them.


Si – You’ve got a good base to build on. I think it’s just making it really distinctive and making it kind of modern. Like it feels a bit like it could be really modern, but it could go the other way and become a thing that stops you smelling bad. It’s just you’ve got to make it a bit more aspirational, instead of this is just part of me. In the same way that it might be really useful to think about what other things really are, so I don’t know if it’s music or what else would it would be that is kind of cool to that kind of like generation, that really works and tells a story in the same way this could. Any comments? Would people buy it? Would you use it?


Course member – I would. I mean like, from like personal experience of being on a long-haul flight, that is the worst feeling in the world, and I know the only thing I want to do is literally just to feel clean. So, I guess I would in a sense do that, and also festivals because a lot of them, the showers are probably worse than just not showering at all to be fair.


Group – Sometimes it’s not nice using a wipe as well, the smell of baby wipes is gross anyway.


Si – Yeah, I think there’s something there.


Eli – Even if you’re just blatantly honest and be like this masks everything, it’ll just keep you good, and when you get home you can sort it out, but for now we’ve got you.



Our thoughts after the presentation


We knew that we needed to define what the product did. So that was a starting point. However the major thing was how we were going to make a story, and how we would go around branding it. We definitely like the idea of adding an element of different strengths to the product, so we believe this is a starting point. The name is being SCRAPPED. We didn't like it anyway so all of us were not bothered about getting rid of it. Our plan is to go away individually, do some more research into our own ideas and how we could brand our idea aesthetically. We will then come back, go through our ideas together and sift through them, developing and creating the best solution for us.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page