top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Breese

Brand Presentation 2 and Feedback

The Presentation


Our brand has developed since our last presentation. We have come up with a stable brand with a direction and aim.


Feedback


Tim (lecturer), Rose (lecturer)


Tim: Can you just explain to me how it works? Because you’re claiming that this is not like a body spray, and not like a deodorant, so what is it? I still don’t know, really, why this is something that offers ease and freshness more than anything else out there.


Group: I mean we sort of played around with different ideas, when we did our last presentation we thought about doing five different products but then we thought that may be too complicated. So it is a functional thing, it is going to be for hygiene purposes like deodorant would be.

So, one was a deodorant, like an aerosol, one was a water mist. Even when you use dry shampoo, it smells nice, and it cleans your hair so that’s what we were thinking like.


Tim: I just don’t know what this thing does. I have one, I can see I have these complicated options in terms of how strong I want the smell and the longevity, but in what way does it genuinely deliver hygiene?


Group: I don’t know. I mean we thought about hygiene in it, but we don’t know what it would be, because we don’t really know how to explain it from that standpoint. I think we’d got rid of the five-idea thing.


Tim: I’m not asking you to be biochemists, but I am saying if you’re claiming this thing does a better job than a wipe, than a deodorant, than a dry shampoo, then we can’t just say it magically does that without having any idea how. So, to me, there is a big gap, because everything you’re saying, every story you’re telling is that we’re saving you time, we’re making it hassle free but I’ve no idea how.


Group: So, would it be better if we researched how that would be possible?


Tim: Do you have any idea what that is?


Group: Well, no, but I feel like it would be possible to make a spray that would be a dry shampoo, but you could put it on your body.


Tim: I think you’ve just said it. It is a dry body shampoo.


Rose: Like spray on talc.


Tim: We know it works for hair. It’s something which allows you to not just deodorise, but genuinely takes away surface dirt on your skin or whatever. I don’t expect it to be very complicated, but I just need you to have some way of alluding to it, so we know what it is. Otherwise it’s the elephant in the room, that you’re making these big claims and there’s nothing there. Your first idea was a pack, so you buy the pack, and rather than these random individual objects that don’t work together – you’ve bought wipes from this brand, deodorant from another, and the body spray from this brand, and the dry shampoo from this brand, this all works together as a pack, and leaves you with one consistent scent, rather than smelling like you’ve walked through Boots. That I get, because that is innovative, but what you’re saying is that you’d like it to be more innovative than that, rather than having to use five products. I’m saying to you, the five products idea is not a bad idea because the value to it is that it comes together, it smells of one thing, do you see what I mean? It’s clear. Because you know Batiste does hair well, you know these people do this well, but they’re saying we’ve looked at all of this and we’re the most innovative wipe you can get. So, either go we are looking at the evolution of products through things like dry shampoo, and we’ve created this new product, but do I then shake it, how does this spray work? Do you see what I’m saying? I really like the name, I don’t think you should ever abbreviate it. I don’t think it should ever be AL, because I’d wonder what it is. We’re not there yet. I think Arctic Lime as a whole word looks really good, so I don’t think you need to abbreviate it. I would have paid, if you’d done nothing else today, and you came up with that thing where you talk about recycling to festival people is we’re going to have our own logo. I think that’s a piece of genius. I would pay money for that. That kind of wit needs to back your brand, not just in your recycled idea. So, Arctic Lime has the attitude of a great indie band, but the bottling and everything, looked a little bit like mineral water, or an intimate hygiene product. I didn’t really feel like it was as edgy as an indie band.


Group: I think we were a bit worried about going to much into the product, because I think we could have spent a lot of time talking about it and we did but we kind of had to move away from it.


Rose: And that’s the next thing.


Tim: You’ve got a good name, you know your consumer really well, you know the location really well. I think your marketing idea is location specific. I thought the Instagram felt a bit feminised if you were genuinely saying it was speaking to both of them, but that doesn’t really matter too much. I just think you need to know what the product does and what it looks like and how it works. I would recommend taking some of the attitude from that great recycled logo and apply it to the creative of the brand.


Rose: I wrote solving a problem yay, but how? I think it’s really good to see mock ups, you’ve thought a little bit further, but don’t get too precious with that because when you come back and review where you are now they might change. They will change.


Tim: Because what if water suddenly becomes redundant if it’s a powder?


Rose: I think the tent thing is great as well. Make more of that. I think potentially it could be targeted at different people at different festivals, so think about what all these different people’s concerns are at lots of different festivals. You know, don’t just think of music festivals, you can get very sweaty at a book festival!


Tim: I love the fact that recycled thing, you spoke about somebody that knew what happened at festivals, where people all ditch their tents. I want more of that. So, I want you to put your top ten slightly snarky festival observations and realities and find a way of bringing them to the brand.


Rose: I thought 17-23 a little bit narrow, I think the potential to expand it is kind of restricted by that. Watch the packaging and the bottle ideas, because I think they’re a little it safe, a little bit expected, a little bit feminine and already what exists. I think you’ve just got to give something a little bit extra. So, whether that’s working on what the product is, to kind of convince people, or you do something maybe a little more collaborative, or you do an extension, or you add another function to the product or to the idea. Also, what do you stand for? If you’re aligning yourselves with festivals, what is it about that festival that you stand for? Is it about the culture? Is it about the experience? Is it about the music? Is it about the fashion? Is it about the food? You know, so I’m thinking like Fred Perry plus music, they kind of stand for something. So, I don’t know if you could maybe look at that a little bit more, because nice smells are already available. People already do nice smells. So, kind of how can you bring a USP to that? Maybe make it a little more exciting, a bit more interesting.


Tim: I just wonder whether, you know, everyone wants to be fresh, but you are at a festival and you want to be credible. You don’t want to look like you’ve just stepped out of an office. I almost feel like it wants to be something like ‘act dirty, smell clean’. You’re at a festival, you’re being a bit edgy. The whole point of festival fashion is not to look totally on fleek, that’s not the point. You’re there in wellies, you may have glitter, but I just feel a bit of that attitude needs to come in, otherwise it just feels like I’m talking to an office executive, saying would you like to be more fresh before you’re meeting. That’s why that recycling copy is so strong because it references an experience of a festival. Beauty at a festival has a bit of smear, has a bit of grit to it, and you want to hold on to that, and not just feel like you’re washing it off.


Group: We did say that to be fair. We did think being clean at a festival is having a bit of mud on your face.


Tim: It’s part of being real. So, get a bit of that in.



Our thoughts after the presentation


So we definitely have to go with the 'last years ditched tents idea'- personally I was so glad that the lecturers liked this part. We have a feeling that it may be the basis for our product. After we figure out that part we need to be able to describe the product in a small summary. WE HAVE OT REBRAND. It wasn't bold enough, it was very 2016 pastel aesthetic. Too girly. This needs a pinterest board (to note a collaborative board was made for us to share images together for our brands final aesthetic) Name is being kept as it gives off a 'band' vibe, however personally I have my doubts. The plan now is to do more photographic research and to then regroup and explore how we could explain the product. (Extra: I found a discontinued product named Dr Mist that does exactly what we want it to, research needs to be done into it) Maybe one product is all we need?- group thought.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page