top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Breese

"Can I copy your homework?" "Yeah but don't make it obvious"


Okay well I know that no one can own an 'aesthetic' and that people are free to use millennial pink as much as they want. But there is a fine line between inspiration and COPYING.


Hence why this post is titled the way it is.


So Danielle what's the problem?


Two names: Frank Body, We Are Cultured.



Now first, yes call me biased, I am a Glossier follower, lover, buyer, hell if it was a cult I'd be there. BUT to say that Glossier was founded in 2010 compared to these 2015 babies, I think I have the right to call a copy cat.


Let's get to it...


EXHIBIT NUMBER ONE: THE LOGOS

Okay they aren't EXACT copies I will give them that but....hmmmm.....I just feel like these brands saw that millennials swarmed to Glossier so took parts of what make it aesthetic to fit in with the 'hype' The closet out of the two to Glossier is We Are Cultured...


EXHIBIT NUMBER TWO: THE INSTAGRAMS


If you mixed them all together I would have thought that they were Glossier...


EXHIBIT NUMBER THREE: THE WEBSITE

oKAY this can't be a coincidence????? I am looking at you We Are Cultured AGAIN. Get some creativity. Please find yourself. Go to Bali if you need to.


EXHIBIT NUMBER FOUR: THE STICKERS


Frank Bod is EXEMPT from this one

This is the one that really annoys me. Like seriously? You couldn't be more obvious. It might as well be the same thing!


EXHIBIT NUMBER FIVE: THE PACKAGING


Frank bod *ding ding* get back in the ring

IT JUST ANGERS ME. Someone was paid to just copy someone's own creative work. Something that they have spent countless hours thinking about and then creating. Anyone can copy. I can. Hire me? Another thing if you are going to copy BE SUBTLE. Or at least make it better than the original. Just so you don't look stupid when Diet Prada calls you out on their instagram *cough*We are Cultured*cough*

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page