top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Breese

I am most proud of...

In terms of my abilities and what I can do individually, I have never been more proud of my A level project. Part of me wishes this was my end of year exam piece (probably would have gotten a better grade)

I explored the idea around models within society and how media has an impact on girls, and their perceptions of the ideals of beauty. I researched into how many girls around my age wish to be Gigi Hadid or Kendall Jenner; the idea of desiring to be them and look like them is seen in today's society. Just take a look at instagram. There are hundreds of Gigis and Kendalls.


I took images of Cara Delevingne, Gigi Hadid and Kendall Jenner; at the time they were THE models to be in the eyes of 16-21 year old girls. I then recreated the outfits and poses in the images myself and took the same images. Placing them in photoshop I manipulated them to merge together. To visualise the idea of a normal girl, like me, morphing into these models. The desperation of wanting to be them. I will admit at the time I could relate to the project as I wanted to be exactly like Cara Delevingne. The images turned out exactly how I wanted them to, and when I asked my classmates what they thought it was about, they were practically on the right lines. They said it looked almost sad. Not wanting to be yourself but someone else. I like the fact that it came across in other ways than intended.


These were the final images I used-




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page